Skip To Main Content

Instructional Leadership

At Elkhart Community Schools, the Department of Instructional Leadership guides academic programming, including special programs, federally-funded programs, literacy initiatives, libraries, professional learning for staff, and development of classroom curriculum and tools. 

Please see the following links for additional information:

Instructional Leadership

Elkhart Community Schools
J.C. Rice Educational Services Center
2720 California Road
Elkhart, IN 46514

Dr. Bradley Sheppard
Asst. Superintendent of Instruction
574-262-5559
bsheppard@elkhart.k12.in.us

Dr. Melinda Higginson
Director of Elementary Education
574-262-5513
mhigginson@elkhart.k12.in.us

Beth Williams
Director of Federal Programs
574-262-5679
bwilliams@elkhart.k12.in.us

Tara White
Director of Literacy
574-262-5869
twhite@elkhart.k12.in.us

Brian Bennett
Coordinator, Professional Learning
574-262-3021
bbennett@elkhart.k12.in.us

Rebecca Thompson
Executive Assistant
574-262-5559
rthompson@elkhart.k12.in.us

Kris Hitt
Department Secretary
574-262-5567
khitt@elkhart.k12.in.us

Lois Mason
Department Secretary
574-262-5720
lmason@elkhart.k12.in.us